august 2011

Hello to all and a special welcome to new subscribers,

August’s addition to the site is another that continues the aim to provide variety in style, length and subject matter. So this month, in contrast to July’s 40 minute excerpt (‘Clenville Rubasco … Enhancing Any Moment‘), ‘Grandidier’s Vontsira‘ is a 4 minute piece inspired by reminiscences of school homework when the only sources of information were the home encyclopaedia and the local library’s limited collection. Those of us with such a past can find ourselves regularly marvelling at the ease with which the internet allows us to find immediate answers to all our questions. (Yes, kids, in the past, queries such as whatever happened to Ralph Malph from Happy Days?; who is the current world’s shortest man?; or ‘how do I combine beetroot and chocolate in a tasty recipe for all the family?‘ would all have to go unanswered.) And for those who’d like to try something other than Google to solve the story’s mystery, the answer is hidden somewhere on the site. However, if you comment on any story in the next month, I’ll email you with the location so you’ll have the solution without having to search.

I hope you enjoy ‘Grandidier’s Vontsira‘ and that you’ll come back to listen to – or read – a few other stories on the site when you can.

Alison

About alisonearlsALOUD

My writing. Me reading it aloud. View all posts by alisonearlsALOUD

3 responses to “august 2011

  • Angela Earls

    Ok, I tried – I tried anagrams, I guessed – an invention? a scientific/ mathematical discovery?
    I gave up, I Googled it – so it’s **************!
    Thanks for the story!

  • alisonearlsALOUD

    I’m so glad you liked the story. However, in your enthusiasm at discovering exactly what Grandidier’s vontsira is, you revealed it in your comment … so I hope you don’t mind that I’ve replaced that with ************** so as not to disclose it to others. I should emphasize that my use of ************** is NOT to replace any unseemly language (as it so often does) – merely ensuring the elusive meaning remains a mystery to those who haven’t read the **!&#@!! story.

Leave a Reply

