Longlisted for International Short Fiction Prize

It’s not a triumph by any means, but I’m pleased to pass on the news that my short story, “The Smell of Rain“, has been included in the Long List for the Fish Publishing Short Story Prize.

Fish Publishing is well known across the world as much for the prestigious writing contests it curates as for the writing talents it has encouraged and helped launch.

everydayfiction.com

Fish is an open door that is inviting writers to walk through it. It has to be encouraged, congratulated, celebrated.

Roddy Doyle

“The Smell of Rain” is one of a number of stories that would probably not have been written without alisonearlsALOUD – the motivation that monthly additions to the website has engendered has meant that over the last three years I’ve been writing regularly and, as a result, developing my style, ideas and (hopefully) my ability to engage a reader. So I’ve produced stories that I feel are worth putting before significant publishers and judges of fiction. Unfortunately, my entry didn’t progress any further than the Long List but to be selected from 1,560 entries to a competition of such high repute is something I can’t be disappointed by. To put it in perspective though, today I received a brief email informing me that my submission to a US based literary journal’s fiction contest that closed on the 8th of March had already been rejected. So, I’m still firmly on the fringes … if that.

But I’ll keep at it and hope I’ll come up with stories to interest you (and some to interest those who might be able to give a broader readership access to my work!)

The first of the month is always on the horizon and will mean something new to read/listen to at alisonearlsALOUD. So stay tuned … and thanks for your interest.

Alison

About alisonearlsALOUD

My writing. Me reading it aloud. View all posts by alisonearlsALOUD

4 responses to “Longlisted for International Short Fiction Prize

Leave a Reply

